Friday, September 14, 2012

Flags of our Nation

Seattle District Manager Yul Melonson, Shanna Stevenson from the Washington Women's History Consortium, and OIC Chuck Roberts from Olympia, WA, participated in the unveiling of the Washington State Flags of Our Nation Forever stamp at the Capitol Rotunda on Friday, Aug. 17.

The sixth and final Flags of our Nation stamp series was unveiled on August 16, 2012. The stamps depict the flags of Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the Stars and Stripes. This release completes the Flags of our Nation series.

Former stamps in the series were released on:
-         August 11, 2011 – Northern Marianas, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, and Tennessee.
-         April 16, 2010 – Stars and Stripes, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, and North Dakota.
-         August 6, 2009 – Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, and Stars and Stripes.
-         September 2, 2008 – District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, and Kansas.
-         June 14, 2008 – Stars and Stripes, Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, and Delaware.

Which stamp in this six-part series do you think is likely to be the most popular?

No comments: